Thursday, August 11, 2016

CARRIE SCHMITT x ARTFULLY AWEAR


Is this not the most adorable art studio you've ever seen?!









One of the best parts of sharing your creative journey with the Internet is the inspirational people you find along the way.  When Carrie Schmitt messaged me on Instagram a few weeks ago, I immediately felt an affinity with her work and her mantra to "Surround yourself with beauty".  An artist and author who lives on a mossy hill just outside of Seattle, Carrie's love for art and color transcends every aspect of her life, even her yoga practice.  Going against everything they tell you about meeting people on the Internet, we decided to meet IRL while I was visiting Seattle over the weekend.

Carrie picked me up in the city and we drove out through many, many pine trees to her studio on a farm, which was the most picturesque location I could ever imagine.  She was working on two large-scale paintings (a new format for her), and I brought along my own canvas (a white romper) so we could create together.

Carrie walked me through her process of making a painting, including her approach and her favorite colors and brands of paints (she includes Prussian Blue in every painting!).  Happily chatting away, she painted the large canvases while I painted my garment, using her style and influence to capture the vibrancy of her works.

The more we talked and painted, the more I realized how much we had in common.  Even though we had extremely different life paths, we connected spiritually through our love for color and expressive artwork.

After my outfit was complete, we snapped some photos with her amazing paintings!

Thank you, Carrie, for such a unique and inspirational experience.  I can't wait to see you back on the West Coast very soon!

Photos by myself and Carrie Schmitt.
Romper from the Gap - purchased in store for $4.97!
 Shoes from J. Crew

8 comments:

  1. That IS a great art studio - perfect!
    Your outfit blended perfectly with the artist's creations.
    What really caught my eye was the painted dress form - now I am on the hunt for a thrifted one so I can paint it up ~
    http://thriftshopcommando.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. http://ufc-202-live.co/
    http://ufc-202-live.co/
    http://ufc-202-live.co/
    http://ufc-202-live.co/

    ReplyDelete
  3. Get the lastest patches of lucky patcher to remove ads and License verification from android apps and games.
    lucky patcher

    ReplyDelete
  4. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburchoutlets.us.com

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadesoutlet.us.com

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.toryburch-outlets.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletinc.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletofficial.us.com

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete